Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Waiting for Warm Ground

 We are just waiting for the ground
in the farm garden to warm up to
50 degrees so we can transplant
our tomatoes.

It's going to be 94 on Saturday.
But it was 8 on Monday.
So.... yeah.

Looks like the night time temps
will be in the high 30s and low 40s
with daytime temps in the low 70s
now for the next 15 days.
It might not be long now...
but in the meantime, they needed to move.

Yesterday after our Hays trip,
Kyle helped me rearrange the
"greenhouse".
(hahahaha)


We moved all the tomato plants
to the floor (with plastic trash bags
under them to catch any drips...)
Hardwood floors are beautiful,
but kind of a pain in the neck.


On the top shelf on the left are our chives.
They will get transplanted around the tomatoes.
The next row are peppers.
And the bottom shelf are 2 more trays of
72 more pepper starts and a tray of
roma tomatoes (you can't see them in this picture).


The tomatoes are SUPER leggy, but we will
"plant 'em DEEP" and get some good
root growth on them.

I pulled flowers off all the SunGold cherries
yesterday. Too early guys!


These are the peppers we were pretty
sure I had killed by overwatering.
They are looking pretty healthy now though.
(The baggie covered pot in the back are some
okra seeds from last year's crop... just checking
to see if they are viable. If they are, I have to
rake them all up before Kyle tills that area...)


Keep growing little guy!


And the little romas are going to get
up potted probably Thursday.

Or maybe I'll wait until we transplant the 
others into the garden. 
There are 72 of these guys and not that
much room on the floor for them!

We are hoping to have tomatoes 
coming out of our ears this summer.

Fingers crossed!!!!!

We need to get the cattle panels up
for the peas that have finally germinated
as well as for the tomatoes.
They are moving to where we just pulled
all the okra out.

Meanwhile, Rod is working on the
plumbing under the house for the
half bathroom yesterday and today.
I think he got the kitchen and prep room
sink plumbing (pipes to the septic)
all finished.
Then he'll work on the master bath.
Next comes the water lines (pex).
We bought all those lines and fittings
when we were in town yesterday.
Kyle will likely have to install those
since they are going in the attic instead
of under the house.
(Less chance of freezing in the winter...)
And, of course, Rod isn't allowed to 
go on ladders and into the ceiling.
(Or on the roof.)

Once all the waterlines are done,
we can start putting up drywall and
closing up those walls and ceilings!
And THEN it will start looking like
an actual house!

Nope.
Not excited AT ALL.

Monday, March 16, 2026

Silly BamBam!

 Kyle called me last night.
We decided it was too windy
for him to come into town for dinner.

He got the trailer popped back
onto its tires, but there is going
to be LOTS of work to get the
coop functional again.

Good news though, it didn't mess
up the door.
He really likes that door!
It's an actual door, not something
he built from scrap wood like
the doors on the pig barn...

Unfortunately the brand new
solar light we bought and he installed
on Tuesday didn't survive though.

and.....

possibly when the coop fell over and
made a big racket (we imagine, he was
in town at church when it happened)
Bam (the male puppy) got out.
No evidence of going UNDER any of the
fences or gates. (And if he had squirted
under, Pebbles would have followed,
she's his little shadow.)
So he probably jumped the 4' fence.

While we were talking, Kyle could hear
Bam barking and Winston barking back.
He was pretty sure he could see him
across the road, but it was about 18 degrees
outside, the wind was still roaring,
and he was just barely thawing out from
feeding the pigs.

So... good luck Bam.

This morning he saw him about .5 mile 
away across the road, 
He went over and got him and
brought him back and put him in 
with the other dogs where he belongs.

Dufus!


It was a bit brisk when I got up.
We were planning to go to the farm
around noon, but it was still
below freezing.
So no.

Instead I'm reading a book
and kind of watching You Tube.
Waiting til 4:30 to start today's class.


Tomorrow the forecast is sunny and 74.
That will feel good!

Sunday, March 15, 2026

WINDY!!!!!

 It's been a busy couple of days!

Friday (Saturday???) Kyle got lots more
of the siding done, this time on the North side.
He is SOOOO almost finished!
(And happy about it, that's a LOT of up 
and down and up and down on a ladder...)


Looking good, eh?

And Rod has been UNDER the house,
doing the plumbing and getting it ready
for the pex inside the house...


That's lots of scooching around for a guy
with broken ribs and a not all the way
healed back.
But he's so happy to be back at work
and contributing to the build.
I'm proud of him.
(He's "mostly" listening to his body...)

Check out the temp on Saturday.


83 degrees!!!
And this morning we woke up to snowing
and a high of 37.
(Which happened about 6 am...)


Tonight it's going to be 11!
(Feels like ZERO)
And it's WINDY!!!!!
Sustained winds 38 - 40 mph with
gusts between 60 and 70 mph.

Kyle's house is fine.
Our house is fine.
Chicken house???????


Not so fine.

Of course, Kyle used his heavy equipment
and got the trailer standing up again,
but there's going to need to be some
major rebuilding for the coop.
(Looks like the roof is laying on the ground
next to the coop...)

But he wanted to get it standing up so the
girls would at least have a place to get up
under there to stay out of the wind tonight.

Hopefully they were all ok.

Oh the many joys of "spring" in the midwest.

Tomorrow is also going to be chilly and then
BAM.

Summer.

This is probably the last cold snap though,
so after a few days, we'll check the temp
in the dirt in the garden and maybe be able
to get the tomatoes in the ground.

But.... I'm not sure if our peas will survive.
They broke the surface yesterday probably.
They just don't love hot weather and it
looks like 80's for the next week.
And then probably drop back into the
high 60's and low 70s for awhile,
so as long as they make it through the
next few days, we might be ok.

HOPE SO!
We planted TEN 50-foot rows!
5 rows each.
In each row, there is a row of bush,
then two rows of pole (with a cattle panel 
in the middle of them) and another row of bush.
So yeah, tomorrow we need to put up
the cattle panels too.

Garden season is UPON US!

Saturday, March 14, 2026

Happy Birthday NANCY!

 Goodness gracious,
how time is flying!
It seems like I just did a birthday
post the other day!

So... today is Nancy's big day!

And a BIG DAY it is!!!!!

Michelle (with lots of help from Nanc 
I'm sure...) is hosting her HUGE
event today.
LOTS and lots of amazing vendors
all brought together in one location
for the lucky people of Tucson to
enjoy and purchase fun and unique things
but local artisans.

SO much work.
And so worth it!!!

Sondra, Greg, Syd and Zoe got to
drive out and spend a few days
with them too!
How I WISH I could have pulled off
a visit at the same time.

I'm sure they are all having a BLAST!

There's a BIG birthday party planned
to celebrate Nancy on the 14th and Greg J
on the 13th.
(Rozann's Greg, not Sondra's Greg...)
(Good taste in husband names girls!)

But if you ask Nanc, I'm sure she will
tell you the BEST present she got was
a phone call from Chris, currently in the
hospital in Bangkok....


Some EXCELLENT health news for him!
No better news for a Mom to receive just
12 minutes into her birthday.

We are SO happy and relieved for you!

Anyhow.
We all know how amazing Nancy is.
She says she is "pulling back", but
even then, she does so much for so many.
So many people LOVE her to bits.

Every time I talk to Mom (every Tuesday)
Nancy is busy going to lunch with this friend,
and helping out with something with this friend,
and having a get together with these friends...
(As an introvert, it makes my teeth hurt... lol)
But she THRIVES!

I am so grateful to have Nancy as my sister.

I will be FOREVER grateful for her staying on
the phone with me into the weeeeeee hours of the
morning as I drove through the dark on
various versions of "Bob's Road" through the
backwoods of Kansas on my way to Wichita.
She kept me laughing and talking and
NOT stressing about what was happening with Rod.

Just a typical thing that Nancy does without
even thinking about it.
She just..... does.
Whatever people need.
And she is so intuitive about WHAT they need.

I love you Nanc!
And I miss you!
I'll get out there to visit........
once things here calm a little.
(hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha)

Happy Birthday!!!!


Thursday, March 12, 2026

Siding Going Up

 It's pretty windy out there...
but if you play your cards right
(And Kyle usually does)
you can work on the side of the
house that's NOT in the wind.

So yesterday he finished the
South side of the house.


Looking good, eh?

The raw board on the bottom is where we will
attach the deck and above will be the deck roof.
But we have to get the septic tank in first,
since the pipes run under the deck.

Yesterday Rod went into town (by himself)
and picked up all the PVC to run the pipes
under the house and out to the septic.
We dropped it all off today.
Had to pick up 500# of pig feed,
so did it all in one trip.

Tomorrow he's going to start working
on the plumbing.
He's SO EXCITED to finally be able to
do something besides sit in his chair
and walk on his treadmill.

He PROMISED to listen to his body
and not over do.

Meanwhile, it was 74 out there today!
(And windy)
We dug down into the rows and discovered
some little pea seeds that have germinated.
Another day or two and they should
break the surface of the soil and we
will see little pea plants!!!!
I'm so excited!

We are going to have an artic blast 
(hopefully the last) on Sunday.
But then it looks like it's going to be
spring weather going forward.

We just got back from a quick trip to
our little town grocery store (Malays).
They are having a big 3-day sale.
We got some personal frozen pizzas for
$0.50 each, some pot pies for $1. each
and some hot dogs for $0.97.
(And buns for $2.09..... lol. Not on sale.)

We like to support our little grocery
store when we can.
Sometimes their prices are just too high,
but when you just need a gallon of milk
or whatever, it's cheaper to pay their
prices than to make a trip into Hays.

And they DO have some awesome
specialty things we can't get at WalMart.
Like their stuffed mushrooms.
SOOO yummy!

Anyhow.

It was a fun day and we got quite a 
bit accomplished.

And now I think I'm going to go make
us some hotdogs and BBQ potato chips
for dinner.
Sounds like fun.


Oh, and we got a single daffodil.
He doesn't look too happy.
Better get some water on him!

Wednesday, March 11, 2026

GROWING!!!!!

 Egads!
The tomatoes are GROWING like crazy.


They have OUTGROWN their shelf.
Jim laughed at me today...
they are SunGold cherry tomatoes.
Indeterminate and FAST growers.

He was all like... "You planted them ALREADY???"
Well, yes.
Last year we felt like we were behind.
So this year we decided to be proactive
and plant them early.
Possibly a little too early.
Possibly.

LOL.


Monday it was 84.
Today the high was 52 and its going
to be pretty chilly out there.
But LOOK AT SUNDAY!
And then it jumps back up and
nothing below 32 overnight for the
rest of the 15 day forecast and
likely for the rest of "winter".
(although there's always that surprise
spring storm possible...)

Anyhow.
We really need to do something with them.
We are thinking about taking them off the
shelf and putting them on a big table
and making a little PVC frame to hang
their lights (adjustable) above them.
Similar to Jim's setup.


Except his is permanent so he
made it out of wood.

Anyhow.
Hopefully by mid-next week we can
start moving them outside to harden off
and then get them (at least the cherries)
into the ground.

We have a lot of Roma tomatoes, but they
aren't in such a big hurry.
They'll be ok for awhile longer.
And I have another tray of 72 that are
just now getting their true leaves
so it will be at least a month before
they need to go outside.

But those CHERRIES!
Goodness gracious!

Hahahahahahahahaha.

(I've been picking flowers off them...
don't want them to start fruiting yet!)
But they WANT to.
We might be sitting in a parking lot
with trays of cherry tomatoes while
everybody else in town is just
starting to plant!

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

Spring Has Sprung!!!

 I know, it's still officially winter.

But......

I opened the kitchen curtain this 
morning and there he was!!!!


The first Robin of the season!

Living in Florida messed with my brain
so badly! We got robins migrating through
in January.
NO!!!!

So at least we are "closer" to the right time here.

Welcome little buddy!

Monday, March 9, 2026

Monday Funday

 Rod and I took Beau and went out 
to the farm to do some measuring
for the new A/C unit.
While he was doing that, I went
down to the garden where Kyle
was running "Nelson" the sprinkling tractor.

He's watering the peas.
We are ANXIOUSLY watching for them
to SPROUT!
(Grow peas, grow!!!)

(Nothing yet, but it's only been a few days.)

Anyhow.
I finished pulling the old okra from
last season's garden.
(My fingers are sore tonight!)

And then we headed back to the house.

Rod called to get the AC unit on order.
And I called to make a butcher appointment
for the hogs.
He said, Oh good, I just had a cancellation.
I can get you in here on May 27.

WHAT???????
I'm used to getting a butcher date within
a week or 2 at the most!
Yikes!
So.... I guess we will continue to feed
these two big boys until then.
Or... maybe we'll take them to the 
sale barn and sell them for whatever we
can get, feed the two smaller ones and
they will be ready to butcher by their date.
(The longer you feed them, they don't
grow bigger, they just get fatter. And although
fat is good, it's not what you want...)

We'll see.
The market is on Thursdays and they
sell pigs FIRST and it's like an hour or
two away, so we would have to load up
at the crack of dawn.
(Probably load up the night before
and just leave them in the trailer overnight.)

Anyhow.

It was WARM out there today!


Yes, it says 82.
On March 9.
And no, we are NOT in Florida or even Arizona.
Tomorrow will be 68.
Which is still warm for March,
but Peas like COOL weather.
So, while I love it when it's hot,
I'm hoping for several more weeks of
a little more mild temp.

Sheesh.

Anyhow.

I just finished teaching tonight's class.
Now I'm going to whip up some spaghetti
for dinner.
I grabbed some chicken quarters
(leg and thigh) out of the big freezer in the shop
(and another bag of okra - might need to plant
... well, HARVEST... more next year...)
but I don't want to cook it tonight.

Last night I made a really yummy meatloaf.
It was delicious!
We had that and mashed potatoes and some
of the spaghetti squash we grew in the
backyard this past summer.
I cooked it up and froze it in 3 serving bags.
YUM.

Ok, better go make dinner.

Happy Daylight Savings to all the Non-Arizona
peeps! (ugh)  Did you see British Columbia
decided to stick with Daylight Savings permanently?
No switching back...
I hope Kansas does the same.
I prefer lighter evenings.

I remember when we first moved here,
I taught until 9:00 and about 8:30 Kyle was
outside my window, firing up the BBQ and
making us some dinner.
While it was still light!
That was fun!

Ok.
I really have to go this time.
NITE!

Saturday, March 7, 2026

More Seeds

 We ordered more seeds.
The peppers didn't do great on the
first planting.
Pretty sure it was a combo of using
the wrong dirt.
And, I kind of drowned them.
Kind of.
Ok, totally.

Whatever.

We were able to salvage some,
but decided to order more seeds and
just start over.
But then we also needed another
shelf and more lights.
I ordered the lights and Rod put up
more shelves (from the barn in FL).

The lights came yesterday, but I had
to teach so by the time they arrived
I didn't have time.

So that's what we did TODAY.

Rod got the lights all set up,
and I seeded 36 Rainbow peppers,
36 Gypsy peppers,
and 72 Aconcagua (giant red) peppers.


Ok little guys.
GROW!


Meanwhile the romas I planted last week
(or so) are all germinated and some
are starting to get their true leaves.
The chives are doing what they do.
(grow S L O W L Y)
And the tomatoes are looking pretty good.

I need to figure out another tray to put
them in and then I'll probably pot up
the best of the first round of peppers
and see how they do.

I'm NOT the green thumb in this family.
But I'm having fun.
Looks like we have 2 more nights below
freezing in the next 2 weeks and then
we might be able to get the tomatoes outside.
Maybe by the last week of March or
the first week of April.
We'll keep an eye on the forecast and
see how it goes.
We'd like to get them in the ground
earlier than last year.
We felt like we were BEHIND last year....

Wednesday, March 4, 2026

CAT

 Introducing "Cat".


It is really pretty!
(We have no idea the gender....)
The internets told Kyle he needs to keep
it in a dog crate for 2 - 4 weeks to let it
get familiar with the location and realize
this is now "home". 

He had been feeding it dog food because
that's what we had.
(It's been living off of rabbit innards/heads
it was digging up at the Sisters, so...)
but yesterday we bought it a bowl and
some cat food.
It was happy!

Originally Kyle put it in the dog crate
we used to pick up the piglets,
surrounded it with hay for insulation
and put in a cardboard box.
It immediately hopped in the box and
he hadn't seen it since.

But the box got wet, then the cat sat on
top of it, and it got all smashed in,
so we bought it a plastic rubbermaid
so it still has a place to get out of the weather,
but it won't get wet or wrecked.
(We also bought some spray paint
to paint it on the outside in case it didn't
want to live in a fishbowl...)

Anyhow.
Hopefully it's happier now.

(Kyle said he just named it Cat because
he fully expects it to just run away
when he finally lets it out.)

Anyhow.

He has been working on the siding
on the house, but took Monday off 
because it was COLD outside.


And now he's at a stopping point because he
needs to put in the attic fan.
We bought one, but it needed the grill
for the front and they didn't have any.
So yesterday we ordered one, it will
be delivered to the house tomorrow.
Meanwhile, today he will be working on 
the watering system for the garden.
There was a little damage over the winter,
so he needed to repair a couple things,
and then reset the drip tape so we can
water all those four 50' rows of PEAS!

(That's a LOT of peas.....)
I see a rocking chair on the porch with big
bowls of peas, shelling for hours.
But that's ok.

Also, peas in the pod, freeze dried are
DELICIOUS!
I'm excited!

Monday, March 2, 2026

EGGS! (And other stuff)

 Weeeeeee.....
We are finally getting eggs on a fairly
consistent basis.
Pretty sure it's only the easter eggers
and the red hens who are laying.
The Black Stars should start soon.

But Kyle is collecting between 5 and 8
nearly every day.


Aren't they pretty?

Meanwhile, I taught over the weekend.
Kyle stopped by after church yesterday
(I was on my lunch) and I told him I was
going to make fajitas for dinner.

But then I realized I don't have any tortillas.
Or tortilla chips.
Or yellow rice.
Or sour cream.

So, I went out and found a steak in the freezer
and put it out to thaw while I taught the 
afternoon session.
I decided to make funeral potatoes to go with.

But when it was time to make it,
I didn't have any cream of chicken.
So I subbed cream of mushroom.
I also didn't have any sour cream.
So I subbed cream cheese. (A REALLY good sub)
And I didn't WANT to put 10 tablespoons
of butter in it, so I didn't. 
(Cream cheese is plenty creamy...)
I DID have lots of yummy cheese,
thanks to the Christmas present that keeps giving.
(Thanks Mom & Dad)
Also I didn't have any corn flakes for the top
so I subbed Ritz.

It was actually delicious.
But not "funeral potatoes".
Just cheesy potato casserole-ish thing.
But yummy.

This is what life looks like when
you are trying to clean out the
pantry and freezers prior to a move.

Creative, eh?
Hahahaha.
So we had steak, potato and mixed veg.
It was good.
We got full.
And had a nice visit while watching
old episodes of "The Commish".

Today was overcast and cold.
It only got to 40.
(It was 71 on Friday)
So we stayed in.
I read a book and Rod watched
stuff on his tablet.
(I watched a bunch on mine too....)
It was a relaxing day.
Which is always nice after a weekend class.

Tomorrow we are back on track.
Hays Days!
(And a phone call to Mom!)